Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Computer Crashed.Have XP disk, no key.  (Read 5324 times)

echoalways

Topic Starter

Starter

Computer Crashed.Have XP disk, no key.
    « on: April 06, 2009, 02:13:48 PM »

Hello there,
    My friends laptop crashed, and won't boot properly into XP anymore. I have a genuine XP Disk, that has not been used previously, but for the life of me, I can only find the disk, and not the product key. I realize I could go buy one, but I am a poor student, as is my friend. So purchasing one from the Microsoft site would not be an option. Is there a way to install XP and have it running without automatically putting the product key in. We are willing to purchase one, but at this point we are unsure if the computer is even worth fixing.  I know that you need a product key to make sure your copy of windows is genuine; but is there a way around it, at least for the time being? So my friend can access his files, and use his laptop until he can afford to get new one, or buy a product key. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am at a loss at this point, and he is getting very frustrated. Thank you, and here's hoping an answer is easily obtained.

Tam ???
    « Last Edit: April 06, 2009, 04:05:16 PM by echoalways »

Dias de verano

Re: Computer Crashed.Have XP disk, no key.
    « Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 03:36:25 PM »
    here's hoping an answer is easily obtained.

Yes, an answer is easily obtained. There is no way to bypass the product key requirement when installing or repairing Windows using a CD. If you do not enter a valid product key, the install will not proceed.