Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need help setting up first computer  (Read 3507 times)

Morrog

Topic Starter

Need help setting up first computer
    « on: April 14, 2009, 01:16:06 PM »
    I just built my first computer, and when I tried to install the OS it gets stuck. I am installing XP. When I turn on my computer it makes a continuous sound, that is very annoying. The first time I tried installing XP it looked like it was going to work, than it gave me some message that the hard drive was bad or there was a virus. So I reset the computer and tried again, now all I get is "verifying DMI pool data" and it wont move pass that. I read the post about DMI and it talked about BIOS setings being correct. I have no idea if my settings are correct. How do I know? Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, and if this is a stupid question. But I am very new to all this. I know home theater not computers.

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Need help setting up first computer
    « Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 01:29:32 PM »
    Try a simple diagnostic tool. Boot a CD or floppy that has some basic diagnostics. Run a memory test for half an hour. If the memory is heat sensitive, it will so up before half an hour.  8)

Morrog

Topic Starter

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 01:39:43 PM »
      Where would I get these tests?

joking

Rookie

« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2009, 03:06:04 PM »
        Open up the computer and make sure all connectors and add on cards are seated properly.  That means straight/level/flat in the sockets.  Especially the ram chip(s).