Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: I installed xp home on top of xp professional - now having some problems  (Read 3570 times)

webbeccjo

Topic Starter

Starter

i didn't really know how to title this post! lol!
    I'm worried that my questions will sound ridiculous, since I have limited computer knowledge, so please bear with me!

I have a dell dimension 8400  with xp professional

Today,I tried to boot up the computer and got an error that said *unmountable_boot_volume

I tried pushing f-12 and running a hard drive diagnostic, but it failed
    (it said fail-return code 7)
    I tried clicking the one that said "boot to utility partition, but it said "missing loader"

I lost the windows xp professional disc that came with the computer (this is an old comp) but I did find a windows xp home edition disc that came with one of our other computers, so I tried booting from that and ended up installing it over top of the xp professional.

It worked...I can see my old files on the c drive under program files, but I can't access them.
    Is there any way to access them or even delete them so I can reinstall what I want/need? I tried using the add/remove programs, but none of the old files show up on it.

hot dog

boy, you've got quite a mess on your hands  ;)

Since you got the XP installation disk from another computer that already used it, in which the license key has already been used, the copy of XP that you installed is not legal.

Even if you can get your files off the hard drive, you won't be able to continue using Windows XP Home edition........

AT this point I would suggest taking the hard drive out of your computer and adding it as a slave drive to another computer.......once the drive is added, you can probably get the files that you need, off the drive....