Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Home Desktop paralyzed after virus attack.  (Read 2580 times)

jason.lee

Topic Starter

Starter

Home Desktop paralyzed after virus attack.
    « on: July 04, 2009, 07:23:24 PM »
    Hello new member here. Since I really didn't see a place to introduce myself, I will here.

So my name is Jason Lee and I am a college student in southern california. I am not to experienced with computers but I know enough to get me around.

So my latest problem is that my desktop has been recently attacked by some virus thanks to my big sister's usb drive. (It was infected until I told her)

I manage to manually delete the virus but i don't know what to do to fix the damage that the virus has caused.

I have a window xp professional with SP3 and starts up fine and everything looks normal except now it says "qcdeem.exe has a problem and needs to close" popup comes up at start-up along with "Notification dll has not been registered, program will not work correctly." popup.

The next few problems I will just list:

-Window xp went from the blue XP theme to the classic theme.
    -Taskbar's quick link disappeared.
    -Internet (wireless) does not connect anymore.
    -Files can not be moved at all, so no click and drag, no copy paste, no send to..., but you could still physically see the files.
    -Some programs will not work or won't even come up including my antivirus, antispyware programs, window media player and such.

I think that's about it, there could be more.

As far as I can tell I believe this computer is doomed so I am planning to wipe the hard drive and reinstall windows and drivers.

But before I can do that I wish to extract some documents, my music, my internet browser;s bookmark from the computer but so far I find it to be impossible since internet doesn't work and I cannot move the files at all.

So how do I move the files? Any suggestion?