Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Rule of Thumb for Power Supply Capacity?  (Read 7755 times)

jmoores

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

Rule of Thumb for Power Supply Capacity?
    « on: July 05, 2009, 01:22:55 PM »
    Hi All,  I'm doing a new build using an old server case...  this is my first build in about 5 years, so I'm a bit rusty on compatibility.  The components below are what I'm looking at, but I'm not sure how much power I'll need?  Or how many case fans?  I'll be using Vista Home premium.

3 Questions -

1) Is there a rule of thumb that I can use to figure out what I need (other than more is better).  BTW, I'm retired so I'm trying to do this for about $500 - $600 max excluding the monitor.  Also, is there a rule of thumb for how many case cooling fans I'll need?

2)  Do I need a 500W or a 650W or more to run the configuration below

3) How many case fans will I need.

Asus P5Q Motherboard / CPU Bundle - Intel P45, Socket 775, ATX, PCI Express 2.0, Gbit LAN, SATA, Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Processor, 2.66GHz
    -or-
    Asus M4N78 Pro GeForce 8300 Motherboard w/ AMD Phenom X4 9600 Quad Core Processor HD9600WCGDBOX Bundle

EVGA GeForce 9400 GT Video Card - 1GB DDR2, PCI Express 2.0, (Dual Link) Dual DVI, HDTV, S-Video, VGA Support
    -or-
    EVGA GeForce 9500 GT Video Card - 1GB DDR2, PCI Express 2.0, SLI Support, (Dual Link) Dual DVI, HDTV, VGA Support

Corsair XMS2 4GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory Upgrade - 2x2048MB

Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS Hard Drive - 1TB, 32MB, SATA-300, OEM

(DVD Burner is an older model that is in the old case.)

DiabloTek PHD550 550-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA Ready, PCIe Ready, 20+4 Pin
    -or-
    Apevia Java 650-Watt Black Power Supply - 120mm UV Blue Fan