Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10  (Read 2354 times)

ginnybinny

Topic Starter

Starter

Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10
    « on: September 03, 2009, 04:06:12 PM »
    I am a retired physician who is planning on going back to work part-time as a primary care doc at an Urgent Care clinic.  I am also starting to write a book about stress reduction.  I have heard that Dragon Naturally Speaking is the only voice-recognition software available.  I have also heard that the Professional 10 is more voice-sensitive and accurate than the Preferred 10 version.  I have read in CNET's reviews that the tech support from Nuance (the software developers) is inadequate at best.

My quandry is whether there is other voice-recognition software available, and whether I should use Professional or Preferred for writing my book.  I don't use "macros", don't access Outlook, but do access websites as references when writing. At some point I may want the Medical version, but not now. I don't think Professional can be upgraded to Medical.  However, at lot of my text uses medical terminology and am not sure if Professional can recognize medical terminolgy. 

Any users of Dragon NaturallySpeaking willing to critique and help me decide which way to go?  Any websites specifically for users of Dragon software that you know of?

Thank you, Dr. G

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10
    « Reply #1 on: September 03, 2009, 05:28:06 PM »
    I use an earlier version of Dragon. Make sure you hardware is of good quality Dragon does not do well where other things are going on and if the hardware is under stress because of limited CPU power.