Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Is there any way of "disabling" an attached laptop keyboard?  (Read 2347 times)

h00giz

Topic Starter

Rookie

Is there any way of "disabling" an attached laptop keyboard?
    « on: October 23, 2009, 03:56:44 PM »
    Hi there,

My laptop keyboard recently went crazy and decided to mess up and not work, so I bought a cheap \wireless keyboard which I now use as a replacement - which is placed on top of the attached keyboard.

However, recently the keyboard as started pressing random keys repeatedly (eg. ////////////////////////) and the only way I fix this is to bash the keys on the keyboard, and then it goes away.

I've tried deleting the drivers from the C: drive but I can't do this, it says I need permissions even though I'm an administrator.

Is there any way I could stop the keyboard from being re\co\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\k7
    m\'njh1'vg\bf\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\NJK7\H1 G\F

^ there is a fine example where it happened in the middle of this post...

...from being recognized by the laptop?

It is a Samsung R510 running Windows Vista.

Thanks

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Is there any way of "disabling" an attached laptop keyboard?
    « Reply #1 on: October 23, 2009, 04:49:42 PM »
    The simple answer is to not put the wireless on top of the bad keyboard. Move it about three feet away and try it.

Allan

• Mastermind
    • Experience: Guru
    « Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009, 04:53:39 PM »
    Or 3 inches. Just not on top of the laptop!

h00giz

Topic Starter

Rookie

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2009, 05:01:31 PM »