Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Help setting up dual boot  (Read 3089 times)

RudeDawg

Topic Starter

Beginner

Help setting up dual boot
    « on: October 31, 2009, 10:39:40 PM »
    Hello,
     I would like to set up a dual boot with XP/7. I will be doing a clean install on virgin (brand new) drives. If at all possible I would like for the 2nd HDD to be a bootable mirror of the 1st HDD. Is this possible? If so is it easy enough for a novice?  Here is my system specs: PS this is my first time building a computer.

Case:          Thermaltake Element G
    Mobo:          Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P
    CPU:           Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 3.4 Gb
    CPU Fan:    Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    Memory:      2X Mushkin 2GB DDR3 1333
    PSU:           Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750
    GPU:           Sapphire Radeon HD 5750 1 GB GDDR5
    ODD:          2X Samsung DVD-W Supermulti SATA 22X Lightscribe
    HDD:          2X Western Digital Caviar Blue 320Gb
    OS:             Windows XP Professional 32 Bit,Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Help setting up dual boot
    « Reply #1 on: October 31, 2009, 11:02:57 PM »
    Yes, you  can do it. But not as easy as you might wish.
    Do you have lots of free disk space?
    Do you have a third drive available?
    One method is to install XP first using about 25% or less of the space you have. Install Win7  next. 
    After that you can 'clone' the drive. But before you do that, make sure you have the recovery DVD for Windows 7. You make it inside of Windows 7. And backup Windows 7 onto  part of the third drive, if you have one.
    The 'clone' process will likely fail. So you have to recovery the Win7 install using the recovery DVD.