Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: need help please :D cant set password on router ..  (Read 2332 times)

o HLDN2K o

need help please :D cant set password on router ..
« on: May 15, 2010, 03:02:18 PM »
hi  :) I'm a total noob ! :) and recently got virgin broadband and got the standard netgear router with it .. problem is when i use the 'wireless manager' it wont connect to my router so i cant name the network or set a password for i ..i can manually connect to my router and it says unsecured network so everyone in the whole street is probably connecting .. i rang virgin up (£1 a minute) ! and couldn't get a proper answer and eventually gave up .. any one help .?

wyatt

Rookie

• Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Re: need help please :D cant set password on router ..
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 07:11:46 PM »
Hello and Welcome!  ;D

I'm going to try my best to get you started. Please let me know if I'm giving you too much or too little. I hope we can help get you setup and going.

How can Virgin charge to help?  ???

Can you please let us know the NetGear's model #? What is your operating system (Win XP/Vista/7)?

For most routers, its best to use the web configuration interface of the box for making changes.
You should do the initial configuration of the router via a wired connection. Some of the newer routers have setup software that tries to perform a wireless configuration but I'm not familiar with it, and the web interface is usually a lot easier to configure through and get help with.

We start by taking a computer and plugging it into the router and getting a IP assignment from it. We need to determine what your router's IP assignments are.

This is very general as I have little to go on - This will most likely differ.

Determine IP Info

Determine your IP assignment by start > (All) programs > Accessories > Command Prompt or Start -> (Run) -> cmd.exe