Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: cab file error message  (Read 2532 times)

tmm5899

Topic Starter

Rookie
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    cab file error message
    « on: June 23, 2005, 05:36:23 PM »
    what does it mean when you are trying to install windows 98 and after you enter the product key it says something about a cab file being corrupt how can you fix this and what is it it happened with both my windows 98  and 98se cds is there a way to type the words in dos and fix this if so how would i do this and i am not good with hard directions
    ???

Raptor

Re: cab file error message
    « Reply #1 on: June 24, 2005, 05:37:18 AM »
    Have you reformatted the HDD before installing Windows 98?

merlin_2

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2005, 10:57:18 AM »

pcdoc4christ

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2005, 02:29:46 AM »
    TMM:

Here's Microsoft's "short" answer to your problem:

This behavior can occur for any of the following reasons:

• Your CD-ROM drive is not functioning properly. The CD-ROM may vibrate too much for the laser to accurately read the data. With the higher spin rates of modern CD-ROM drives, slight damage to a CD-ROM can affect the CD-ROM drive's ability to read a CD-ROM properly.

• Your computer is over-clocked. Extracting files from the Windows 95/98 cabinet files is memory intensive. If your computer is over-clocked beyond the default settings, it can contribute to decoding errors. Computers that are not over-clocked but are having a cooling problem can also experience decoding errors.  

• Your computer has bad or mismatched RAM or cache. For example, you are using EDO and non-EDO RAM, or you are using different RAM speeds. Even if Windows seems to be running without problems, the additional stress of extracting files and accessing the disk may contribute to decoding errors.