Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Activating software after computer crash  (Read 2847 times)

wrwcan

Activating software after computer crash
« on: February 08, 2010, 07:48:52 AM »
I purchased MS Office and installed it on my Desktop and Laptop. I understood I was licensed to use it on 3 computers. My motherboard on my desktop melted and purchased a new desktop and installed MS Office on it. That was my 3rd installation. Then my hard drive crashed on my laptop. I wanted to activate my MS Office on my new laptop but Microsoft would not allow it. If successful in activating MS Office on my laptop I would only be using Office on 2 computers, the first 2 are toast. Do I have to purchase Office again just to have it on my desktop and laptop? I have tried to get to a person at Microsoft but have been unsuccessful. I am a student and need Word 07 on my desktop and laptop desperately but do not want to spend 100 plus $$ to get it when I just upgraded from Office 03 to Office 07 last November. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :'(

ale52

Expert

• Deo Gratis
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Activating software after computer crash
    « Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 07:52:02 AM »
    Try calling M$ and explain the situation.  They may or may not give you grace, depending on what side of the bed that person got up on that morning. :P

Alan <><  :D
    I have principles.  And if you don't like them...well...I have other principles!!

truenorth

Guru

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2010, 05:39:51 PM »
      Or alternatively could you not network the 2 latest computers that you are using and use the one you have "office" on to create your work then transfer the result to the other computer--if ale52's suggestion does not bear fruit? You sure seem to be having a bad string of luck with your computers.truenorth

soybean

Genius
      • The first soybean ever to learn the computer.