Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Help with Excel 2007  (Read 2060 times)

turbo_stella

Help with Excel 2007
« on: April 11, 2011, 12:47:29 PM »
Hiya,

I am fairly new to using Excel. I have a spreadsheet which include non-numerical data.

I have four columns of data, and each field contains either a 'yes' 'no' or 'n/a'

I want to plot this on a bar chart, preferably in clusters of three bars for each response, so in total I will have four clusters of three bars.

How do I do this??? I can create a bar chart using numerical data, but I can't work out how to do it for the data I need to plot!!

Can anyone help pleeeeease?

Base2

Beginner
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: Help with Excel 2007
    « Reply #1 on: April 12, 2011, 11:16:03 AM »
    Hi there,

I've put guide lines below for how you can do this.  Please copy your excel to another location and save it under a different name first.  This way if anything goes wrong you won't lose any original data.  The steps below will work for Microsoft Excel 2007 and 2010... which this is based on.

If you get stuck let me know by either replying to this post or via a pm (private message) or both probably.  That way if I'm a little slow replying someone else here might be able to pick it up and help you too.

Happy Excelling :-)

Guide Lines

Underneath the data use another three fields as follows:

Yes
    No
    N/a

Inside the fields next to it (to the right) insert the following formula as below:

=COUNTIF(A1:A17,"Yes")
    =COUNTIF(A1:A17,"No")
    =COUNTIF(A1:A17,"N/A")

After you enter the formula just hit enter or click on another field.  Inside the field it will now show a number.

The number shown will be telling you how many yes or no or n/a there are in that particular column.

so for example this will now look something like this:

Yes 5
    No  6
    N/a 7

Now on to getting the pie chart.