Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Insufficient permissions  (Read 4359 times)

kenmiles

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Insufficient permissions
    « on: July 29, 2012, 02:52:57 AM »
    Windows XP Home Edition - Google Chrome - desktop computer - I am sole user - Mecer Intel pentium P4 CRU - 3 GHz - 2 GB RAM - H.D. 75 GB - Used 25 GB. I am an Administrator. I can download any program but it won't run - msg. is "insufficient permissions". I suspect it is with the OS. I feel that reloading or re-installing Windows XP may solve the problem. It was O.K. till about 6 weeks ago, and I cannot recall if or when I made a boo-boo that caused this error.
    PROBLEM: The computer was a gift - internet paid for by a friend - I have no CD's at all, and cannot afford any. (I am a pensioner living in a Mission - pension US$150 per month ) I don't know anyone who will lend me a CD, and I am isolated to get anywhere. So what I think I need is step-by-step instructions as to how to repair or re-install Windows XP WITHOUT a CD of any nature. I am a novice so please treat me as a dummy. Thank you - Ken Miles

truenorth

Guru

Re: Insufficient permissions
      « Reply #1 on: July 29, 2012, 08:25:15 AM »
      Because of your reference to this being a recent phenomenum  and your avowed lack of computer knowledge i am providing a link to the Microsoft site for instructions on their "recovery" process for your operating system. This does not require any discs.Please read it and try it.If you have further questions please return and we will endeavor to help.truenorth
      http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306084

hartbeatmr

Apprentice

• Yes
      • Certifications: List
      • Computer: Specs
      • Experience: Expert
      Re: Insufficient permissions
      « Reply #2 on: July 29, 2012, 12:45:42 PM »
      Good afternoon kenmiles and welcome to CH