Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Laptop Cannot Charge Battery  (Read 3921 times)

CalebHansberry

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

• Eh doesn't afraid of anything
    • Sweet Home Carved Signs
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Experienced
Laptop Cannot Charge Battery
« on: October 27, 2014, 02:49:54 PM »
Hello, I'm an amateur computer repairman. One problem I've seen a few times (twice in friends/clients computers and also my own) is where somehow, a wire inside in the power adapter cord breaks - breaking one of the connections and rendering the charger cord useless - and then after that, no new charger will charge the laptop anymore. The laptop gives message "Plugged in, not charging". If I could solve this issue, that'd be a great step towards being actually able to be a computer repairman. Any knowledge of how this problem can be fixed - barring replacing the motherboard, that's generally not worth it in used laptop? Could it be the little tiny fuse on the motherboard?
Thanks.

oliverpowell

Re: Laptop Cannot Charge Battery
    « Reply #1 on: October 27, 2014, 08:55:19 PM »
    The problem is with the charger itself, not with the motherboard. You can try using different power adapter and see if it works.
    In similar situations, replacing Laptop battery with new one could resolve the issue.

Post back your progress!!

CalebHansberry

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2014, 01:46:56 PM »
    In two cases, I've already tried both a new charger and a new battery - neither changed the outcome, unfortunately.

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Experience: Expert
    « Reply #3 on: October 28, 2014, 02:27:46 PM »
    CalebHansberrym,