Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Advice on my Computer Build!  (Read 2628 times)

Dafaria

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Advice on my Computer Build!
    « on: April 04, 2016, 04:54:54 PM »
    I'd like some help on my computer build as I am a beginner to this kind of thing.

I'm getting an i7 6700k with a Z170 motherboard. Is the Z170-AR good enough? Or should I go for a different company/specific board? Like what is the actual difference between them - eg the ASRock Extreme7+ which is about $100 more expensive.

Also, I have THIS SSD http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/memory-storage/MZ-N5E250BW which from what I have been told is meant for a laptop. Is there any way for it to work in my desktop?

Finally, my computer is making a lot of noise... Is this because it just hasn't been cleaned in a while, or is there something I can buy / etc in order to quiet it down a bit?

Thanks,
    -Dafaria

Calum

• Egghead

• Yes
      • Yes
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Beginner
    Re: Advice on my Computer Build!
    « Reply #1 on: April 05, 2016, 04:59:55 PM »
    Welcome to the forums :)

I'm getting an i7 6700k with a Z170 motherboard. Is the Z170-AR good enough? Or should I go for a different company/specific board? Like what is the actual difference between them - eg the ASRock Extreme7+ which is about $100 more expensive.

The differences between various boards essentially come down to features, looks, and reliability.  If the features of the Z170-AR suit you, and you're happy with the layout in terms of available slots, ports, and so forth, there's no reason to spend more in my opinion, and Asus boards tend to be pretty solid in terms of reliability.  I don't have a "go-to" recommendation for Z170 boards myself but someone else may chime in.