Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: multipull installs os/windows xp  (Read 2129 times)

gavin.barrass1

multipull installs os/windows xp
« on: April 17, 2006, 03:09:39 PM »
before i start im a newbie so if any one replys please take it easy.ive got a 20 gig hard drive and 18 of it is 2 installs of windows xp,ive had this computer about a month and didnt know much about the web and virus's and spy ware so i got dial up and went on the internet .but i didnt have any anti virus's or anything to protect me against any thing,so after a couple of week there was a lot of stuff on it i didnt want so i thought id put xp on again and choose a clean install thinking it would wipe everything off i didnt want.so i installed it and it saved some files and stuff i didnt want and transferd em to the new install id just done.so after a week the same thing came up(stuff on i didnt want couldnt be botherd fishing it all out and deleting it) so out came the disk again.and again it copied files over i didnt want and it didnt format the other copy.SO is ther any way i can format the hard drive ?ive only one hard drive and no one i could take it to and ask to format it so is there any software out there capable of formating what i dont want or need and keeping what i do need all while my coputer is on and windows running.OR how can i format it ?is there any way?p.s ive now got the proper software to protect me.

GX1_Man

Re: multipull installs os/windows xp
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2006, 05:09:45 PM »
Format the drive, erasing EVERYTHING and reinstall XP. Before you even connect it to the internet (don't even plug in a cable!), install SP2 (if not already there) and at the least an antivirus. You can download these and have them ready on CD. AdAware and Spybot are helpful as well.

gavin.barrass1

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2006, 11:33:15 AM »