Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: what to do now?  (Read 5047 times)

unlovedwarrior

Guru

• someday this name will be known
    Re: what to do now?
    « Reply #15 on: July 06, 2006, 08:04:39 AM »
    lol... sometimes other ppl answer confuse you so you just need to find the answer for yourself..

scott_morton70

« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2006, 11:20:40 AM »
    so if i keep the stolen one, how do i protect myself?  rest the bios?  rest the mac address?  any ideas?

unlovedwarrior

Guru

« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2006, 11:28:49 AM »
      i dont know umm try taking the internal battery out for a min or two that should reset the bios.. but what for what one of the experts has to say on my advise.. before you do anything i suggest.. cuz im not an expert

Nitro

« Reply #18 on: July 06, 2006, 12:58:02 PM »
      Depends if its 64 bit or not, Athlon xp's have been out for years.

What Athlon XP ran at 2.2 GHZ that would be in a business class machine? Dell doesn't use AMD anyway.  ;)

[smiley=laugh.gif]

Fair point, Although its not a business class machine Alienware have been running athlons  ;)

Nitro

« Reply #19 on: July 06, 2006, 01:01:15 PM »
      is it a new HDD?

If its not and its the original one, unless its been wiped properly then there could be traces of whoever had it before.

unlovedwarrior

Guru

« Reply #20 on: July 06, 2006, 01:02:46 PM »
        sooo REFORMAT :o ::)

GX1_Man

« Reply #21 on: July 06, 2006, 01:08:26 PM »
        so if i keep the stolen one, how do i protect myself?  rest the bios?  rest the mac address?  any ideas?

Rest your guilty conscience I guess. How ever you need to do that.

Nitro

« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2006, 01:16:16 PM »
        sooo REFORMAT :o ::)

Reformatting doesn't always get rid of everything, Its why people always say never to buy a refurbished/second hand hard drive.

unlovedwarrior

Guru