Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: information for creating an antivirus  (Read 2613 times)

zaryk

information for creating an antivirus
« on: March 15, 2008, 06:04:57 PM »
I apologize if this is in the wrong section or has already been brought up.  I am in search of information on how to create an antivirus.  I have some experience in c# and c++ but not enough to get started.  Then again im not really sure if its even possible or the best way to create an antivirus in c++ or c#.  If it was possible i would expect there to be alot of if/else statement or switch statements.  Here recently it seemed like i was reading that antiviruses are made with binary and hexes, and also include compilers.  Even this im not really sure how an antivirus is structured.  I have tried to look for sample tutorials or full tutorials for antiviruses in both languages with no success.  I have downloaded many ebooks and txt files explaining how viruses work and the history of viruses (all so fascinating) some of which i still have not been able to look at cuz of school and work.  I was wondering which language would be best to create antivirus, where i might able to get a list, a virus definition file possiblely, that is public domain or can be used for commercial use....not like ill be making the antivurs anytime soon.....or just a list in general........and/or even better, an idea on how to be able to break down viruses into source code to see how they are structured .......finding viruses arent a problem for me, especially since i have purposely downloaded a zip file that contained 6000 viruses, left them on my computer for a few days, and was able to get rid of all them and fix the problems they caused with minimal effects.   Any ideas would be helpful?  I am trying my best to learn everthing i can before i start creating the program.   I use windows xp sp2, devc++, borlands c++ compiler, and sharp