Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Big problem while installing RAM.  (Read 2456 times)

LadyWysteria

Big problem while installing RAM.
« on: June 22, 2009, 09:52:26 PM »
Okay, I'm kind of panicked right now, but let me just relay my problem here to see if maybe someone knows what I've done wrong.

I have some decent experience with removing and adding hardware to the inside of a computer.  I was taught to do it by a computer science teacher and he absolutely loved my work because I was so careful and precise.  I've done it several times before with good results.  I just did it to my own computer a few months ago and was amazed at the improvement.

My mother's computer has been very slow lately, so I was going to install a new RAM.  I unplugged everything, no problem.  I opened it up, no problem.  It was EXTREMELY dusty, but I don't think this is the problem.

I had an amount of difficulty getting the RAM in but after a while, it appeared to be in (turns out later it wasn't).  I closed it up and plugged everything back in.  Here's where the problems begin.

Turned it back on.  No signal on the monitor.  Mouse didn't respond.  Keyboard didn't respond.  Mother flipped out.

Toggled with a few of the cords, nothing happened.

I opened it back up and removed the RAM, only to find that it wasn't in all of the way because her RAM slots were not compatible with the RAM I'd tried to put in.  This shouldn't have caused the lack of response from the input/output areas though, right?

After I removed the now-useless RAM and plugged everything back in, I turned it on again only to find that now, not only were the monitor, mouse, and keyboard not responding, it was paired with an awful monotone BEEEEP tone.

Now, every time it turns on, there's a BEEEP.