Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: need clarification  (Read 3147 times)

EEVIAC

need clarification
« on: February 18, 2010, 03:20:44 PM »
I'm a programming newbie and need help understanding what the following code and paragraph is saying..

Code: [Select]

cin.get();   // add this statement
        cin.get();   // and maybe this, too
        return 0;
}

"The cin.get() statement reads the next keystroke, so this statement causes the program to wait until you press the Enter key. (No keystrokes get sent to a program until you press the Enter key.) The second statement is needed if the program otherwise leaves an unprocessed keystroke after its regular input.  For example, if you enter a number, you'll type the number and then press enter. The program will read the number but leave the Enter keystroke unprocessed, and it then will be read by the first cin.get()"

I understand how the first statement is used, but I don't understand how the second statement is used.. I don't know what the paragraph is trying to say
« Last Edit: February 18, 2010, 03:31:28 PM by EEVIAC »

EEVIAC

Re: need clarification
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 05:01:03 PM »
I forgot to mention that this is a C++ tutorial I'm reading this out of

EEVIAC

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2010, 02:56:45 PM »
I figured this out using a sample program in the book I'm using...
Except I substituted in some string values in other than what the sample code was using...

Code: [Select]
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
int fleas;

cout << "How many fleas does your cat have?\n";
cin >> fleas;
cout << "OH MY GOSH!! " << fleas << " is waaaaay too many. Bath time!\n";

cin.get();
     cin.get();
     return 0;
}

Output:

How many fleas does your cat have?   
OH MY GOSH!! 100 fleas is waaaaay too many.  Bath time!