Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need Help with new desktop  (Read 2220 times)

Cimber22

Topic Starter

Starter

Need Help with new desktop
    « on: April 19, 2010, 05:14:00 PM »
     Hello everyone, i just built a new desktop pc, and im having some issues with it. first let me list whats in it.

1. Motherboard: Gigabyte p55m-ud2, 64-bit
    2. Processor: Intel I5 2.66 GHz 8MB Cache
    3. Video: Dual Radeon HD 4670 HIS, 1GB DDR3, Crossfired
    4. Hard Drive: 2x Western Digital 500GB Sata 2, Raid0
    5. RAM: 2x 2GB sticks ADATA Ram
    6. Power supply: Apevia java power 650w
    7. OS: Windows 7 home premium 64-bit

for now thats all i can think of that might be pertinent as far as hardware. i know my way around a comp, but im no expert, im not good with the technical details and so forth, so i have no doubt ive done something wrong, but i cant figure out what.

my first issue is this system doesnt seem to run as fast as i think it should considering the hardware thats in it. i would think that it would run Crysis with maxed video no prob. it wont.

my second problem is that there is a random beep that is driving me nuts. when i boot the comp, there are 4 lights on the MB that light up,  2 are green, 1 is orange, and 1 is red, i have no idea what they mean. anyway, it passes the post test, and loads windows no prob. if im playing a game, no beeps, but if the system is idle for any period of time i hear "blip" , a few seconds pass, "blip", another second passes, "blip", and i hear a fan increase rpm's then drop back down again. i have plenty of fans in this system, i dont think its overheating, but i do feel like this is hardware related, somehow. also, ive tried my ram in both single and dual channel mode, neither seems to make a difference.
    i would greatly appreciate any questions, comments or advice on this so i can get the most out of my new system. thanx!

patio