Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: a sum-problem in Excel2000...  (Read 3481 times)

patej

a sum-problem in Excel2000...
« on: June 20, 2005, 12:53:58 PM »
Hi,
I'm really a newbie with database etc. things and now I'm trying to create a kind of a database or statistics about the fish my friends and I have caught. My idea is that I have the fish on rows and then I have columns for years, months, species, weight, lures etc..

My problem is that I want to get the sums from each column onto the first row of the corresponding column. I've got this far, but when I add another fish (=row) I would like Excel to increase the area from where it calculates the sum automatically to the new row. This is because my friends are adding the info there as well, and they know even less about Excel than I.. :P

Here are screen shots of an example statistics I created: http://koti.mbnet.fi/patej/excel_prob.jpg The first pic shows the way I've done it and which works, but which doesn't increase the area (blue rectangle) automatically when a new row is added. I have columns up to BT, so it's quite time consuming to do it by hand every time..

The second pic shows a thing I tried, but didn't work.. I tried to select the area for the sum in B2 to be the whole column B, but I couldn't exclude the cells B1, B2, B5 and B6 from the selection (tried ctrl-key), so it resulted in error message.. Any ideas on how I could solve the problem? I really don't know about all the features in Excel2000..

Wow, this became quite a mess to try to explain my problem, but I hope someone understood.. :P

Any help appreciated,
--patrik
« Last Edit: June 20, 2005, 01:24:43 PM by patej »

merlin_2

patej

Re: a sum-problem in Excel2000...
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2005, 02:15:35 AM »
http://www.kayodeok.btinternet.co.uk/favorites/kbofficeexcel.htm