Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: home LAN  (Read 2716 times)

mrmatty

home LAN
« on: July 27, 2005, 12:36:22 PM »
Hi,

I just moved to a new house and have noticed that there are sockets labelled "LAN" already wired into each room...right next to the phone sockets. In the cellar I discovered a card fixed to the wall which has 8 sockets. LAN1 - LAN6, "IN" & "LINE/U". All the sockets in each room seem to be connected to this card.

I am a complete newbie to networking so I was wondering what this card is, and what I need to connect the PCs in each of the rooms.

I have tried to look for a name/model number on the card, but there is nothing.

I would be grateful if someone could help me out here..

Cheers!

Computer_Commando

Re: home LAN
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2005, 12:41:46 PM »
With no name or model number, can you post a photo of the card?  Maybe we can identify it from that.

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2005, 12:49:08 PM »
    mrmatty...... the sockets you refer to in the various rooms .........do the look like a large telephone jack  ( that takes a RJ 45 connector ) .

Most new houses are prewired for Audio , Video and internet .....or any combination of that .....they will be terminated in a cabinet ..located in the basement , garage or some other convenient location .......
    This eliminates the requirements of trying to run and conceal the cabling if its required.

dl65  ::)
    « Last Edit: July 27, 2005, 12:50:20 PM by dl65 »
    If you don't know the answer, it isn't a dumb question.

mrmatty

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2005, 11:38:24 AM »
    Hi both,

Thanks for replying.

I have posted pictures of the card.  There appears to be a serial niumber on it, but this didnt  help when i googled it.

http://www.geocities.com/flasc_h/LANcard/