Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: How can I  (Read 2668 times)

USKiwi

Topic Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    How can I
    « on: December 29, 2014, 06:59:27 AM »
    I may have a problem can anyone help, being my first time to the forum kick me if I do something wrong!!!
    I have a machineshop and have been given a older CNC milling machine which requires a cam software to run. I have an older seat of Mastercam 9.1 which I was running on Win 2000 Pro.
    I wish to buy a new computer running Win 8 with an AMD chip set.
    Question, can I just create a partition then load Win 2000 pro as a second OS or will it not run on the new computer?
    You see I am retired and the $10000 price tag for a new Mastercam 10x seat is out of the question. I also need to find out if I even can load my seat of Mastercam 9.1 and have it see the harps key.
    I will do my best to answer any of your questions.   

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: How can I
    « Reply #1 on: December 29, 2014, 07:11:06 AM »
    Question I have is.... why buy a new computer? Why not just find an older computer that runs good and install Windows 2000 to it and run the software that was intended for that OS and hardware.

I use to assist with a garage and machine shop that had some older systems/machines running on old OS's. The machines dont run any faster on a new computer, they are limited by design to cutting metal at a specific rate for example so you could run a 486 computer or a modern Core i7 which is overkill and the machine if the software can run on a modern computer will not run any faster etc.