Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Hard Drive Pieces  (Read 3299 times)

Pochemuchka

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Hard Drive Pieces
    « on: April 22, 2015, 10:15:15 PM »
    Hi,

This is my first post and let me openly state I am not a techie as much as I wish that was different.  Nonetheless, I need some information and I hope that you can understand what I am trying to explain.

Two weeks ago, my old clunker of a home PC finally bit the dust.  After talking with some IT folks, I now know that it was simply a power surge issue and could be easily replaced.  I am an assoc. professor and I kept old course syllabi on there.  I am a bit of a digital packrat so I'm sure I had some useful files on that old computer that had served me so well.

When it first happened, I wanted to have it fixed but as I already stated had I known then what I know now....[sigh]  Anyways, my husband suggested that we use the services of a gentleman that lived in his parents' apartment building.  Said gentleman previously gave my husband a business card that stated this person in question was a qualified computer technician.  Further, this gentleman was "down on his luck" so to say and could use the money so I said, "sure, why not."  Talk about tweedle dee and tweedle dum leading the blind into a ravine...

The light at the back of the computer was flashing on a steady rhythmic pace and the gentleman said he attempted all things to prove that the battery on the computer was kaput.  In the end, he said the motherboard was fried but that he could save the files on my hard drive.  I thought, "Wonderful, all I really want are my files any way!"