Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Computer help for beginner  (Read 2223 times)

Mandy

Topic Starter

Rookie
    Computer help for beginner
    « on: June 03, 2007, 01:54:37 PM »
    I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right spot sorry if I'm not. I have a Dell Dimminsion 4400 with Windows Xp the computer is about 4 yrs old. It was working fine until I loaned it to my brother till he got a new one and now I can't get it do do anything. When I turn it on it stays at the dell logo for awhile and then turns to black screen with message that says Boot Device not Detected System Haulted. I am not technical at all so if someone could help me in the simplest of terms I would greatly appreciate the help. I have no clue where to begin.

Thank You, Mandy

saint_hades

Intermediate

• She's nearly ready
      Re: Computer help for beginner
      « Reply #1 on: June 03, 2007, 02:18:43 PM »
      Have you tried installing, the Window CD(DVD), that came with your Dell.
      Mines red (the CD(DVD) cover), so I believe yours might be.

It's should say something like this on it.
      Operating System
      Already Installed On Your Computer 

Also to reinstall it, put the CD(DVD) in your computer when it's loading up, then look for a message on the top right saying
      Boot somthing(can't really remember)

Hope this helps
      Computer Specs
      Motherboard - Nforce 780i xfx CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600  Hard drive - 120GB RAM - Geil DDR2 2GBx2 BLACK DRAGON Graphics Card - XFX 8800GTX PSU - Gigabyte 800w GT

Mandy

Topic Starter

Rookie
        « Reply #2 on: June 03, 2007, 08:21:44 PM »
        Ok I tried to reinstall windows with the cd. It goes through setup but then says setup did not find any hard disk drives installed on computer, windows was not installed.

superman777

« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2007, 10:57:05 PM »