Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Will Changing Dhcp to a proxy open port  (Read 3226 times)

changeme

Will Changing Dhcp to a proxy open port
« on: September 06, 2007, 03:19:55 PM »
Hi, Im new to computing so im trying to learn everything I can. I want access to a site at my job that the company dont want us to have access to so I was wondering if I change the DHCP to a proxy Ip, if it will then allow me to opent an out going port? I can open a incoming port for what I want to use it just wont send the signal out so I can use the site I can see it just not use it so I think that The DHCP ip for company admin is run through the DHCP IP. If I change the ip to a proxy Ip that should take away administrators block on setting up a out going iP Right? :P I know this is some sort of external firewall.

Deerpark

Egghead
    Re: Will Changing Dhcp to a proxy open port
    « Reply #1 on: September 06, 2007, 03:30:01 PM »
    The DHCP server is only responsible for assigning IPs (usually on a LAN) to network devices. Changing it to a proxy IP will only accomplish getting you disconnected from the company LAN when your current IP lease expires, nothing else.
    Do a bit of reading on it if you don't believe me.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dhcp

It might be a firewall blocking site access, but it could just as easily be a content filter. But I am not going to give you tips on how to circumvent rules set down by your employer.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

changeme

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2007, 07:11:23 PM »
    Error_game_js5connect - Unable to connect to update server.
    Game was unable to connect to the update server. This is most likely caused by a firewall blocking the connection. To resolve this: