Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: IE 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.080814-1233  (Read 7107 times)

truenorth

Topic Starter

Guru

IE 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.080814-1233
    « on: January 11, 2009, 10:26:01 AM »
    I have been putting up with an issue with the above program for a few months now and have learned to live with it.However in a desire to have the program work as it should i am seeking a solution to what is happening. Which is the following: I have a media news page as my home page.Whenever i desire to go to a link within the page i must right click on the link and select "open in a new window". Otherwise the page will never open and i get the usual window indicating could not connect and all the options contained therein.This phenomenon has only occurred within the past 2-3 months and only occurs on this one computer. Sony Vaio desktop O/S Xp pro sp2.I do not have Norton or Mcafee on this computer. I do not want the solution to be "install Firefox". I have had issues with Firefox in the past (particularly when used on the same computer that has a version of IE. on it). I do use Opera on another computer (which i am very satisfied with) but have no desire to put it on the Sony.I would much prefer to solve the IE problem.I have been tempted to upgrade IE 6 to IE 7 but have heard some adverse comments re IE 7. Suggestions please.truenorth

kpac

• Web moderator

• Hacker

• kpac®
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • Yes
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: IE 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.080814-1233
    « Reply #1 on: January 11, 2009, 10:48:00 AM »
    Well, there isn't anything wrong with IE7, in my opinion.

truenorth

Topic Starter

Guru

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2009, 11:32:04 AM »