Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: find software solution  (Read 2800 times)

Janby

Topic Starter

Starter

find software solution
    « on: February 06, 2009, 05:45:47 PM »
    I am a genealogy volunteer teacher. I need all of the following because my personal and teaching files are getting unmanageable and was hoping not to have to buy more than one program.  I needed expert help.  I have been on the computer all week trying to find a program that does all of the following at a reasonable cost to the individual retired person.

What I need is an easy to use program that organizes:
    1. pictures (all formats)
    2. scanned documents
    3. saved Word Perfect or MS Word format documents
    4. PowerPoint presentations
    5. multimedia (CD, DVD, MP3, audio & video files, etc)
    6. Genealogy programs with their GEDCOMs
    7. emails
    8. Contact info (addresses, phone, personal data such as birthdates)
    9. a calendar/alarm would be a nice bonus but not necessary

A. It needs to allow comments or descriptions to be added to each entry
    B. It also needs to be able to search by date, name, or words within each document or description
    C. It needs to have scanning capability built in with Picture formats and an OCR capability (I think this is the format   
        necessary in order for the documents to be searchable? right?).
    D. Download part of, or all info onto a smaller device (don't know what kind of device would support what I do, I'm still 
        learning)
    E. Most important of all it needs to be simple (color coding help a lot, especially if I can choose the colors)
    F. If possible, Needs to be able to magnify  (yes, my eyesight is going too)
    G. If possible, Needs to work with voice commands (it will be a something I will need down the road when I am no long to write or type)