Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: How do you specify wep key for wireless?  (Read 3089 times)

DaveLembke

Topic Starter

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
How do you specify wep key for wireless?
« on: November 05, 2009, 10:54:36 PM »
I am new to Windows 7 and I am trying to figure out how to connect to my older Wireless B access point which has 128-bit wep encryption, and on the taskbar by the clock there is a wireless nic icon that I select and it tries to connect and says that it is unable to connect to the access point that IT SHOWS as my actual access point.

It does not prompt me for the wep key to be able to connect to the access point. Anyone know where I go to set this up in Windows 7 Home Premium?

I would have expected to be able to go to wireless configuration wizard like Windows XP and specify the hex key or passphrase, but I cant seem to find it. I am guessing that it is burried somewhere and someone might be able to point out where.

Quantos

Guru
  • Veni, Vidi, Vici
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Experience: Guru
Re: How do you specify wep key for wireless?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2009, 12:42:18 PM »
I would really suggest using WPA as it is far more secure than WEP(irregardless of how many bits it is).  If your current router doesn't support WPA then I strongly suggest replacing it.
Evil is an exact science.

DaveLembke

Topic Starter

Sage
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2009, 03:03:15 PM »
Thanks for that suggestion. I am very low risk for wardrivers etc as for I live somewhat isolated from the main town and neighbors are more than a 1/4 mile away. So although WEP is vulnerable, the old Wireless-B Access Point still works well and I will use it until there is a bottleneck with my broadband service. The 10mbps is about equal to broadband service out this way.