Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: transfering 8mm tapes onto computer  (Read 3816 times)

amy day

transfering 8mm tapes onto computer
« on: July 15, 2005, 09:04:52 AM »
Someone my husband knows gave us a Sony CCD-TRV21 video camera. It uses the small 8 mm tapes...I have no clue what I need  to transfer the video to my computer.  The only thing it has with it is the battery charger and this square thing attatched to the charger...I don't know what this square thing is for.  The videocamera works great but I don't know what to do with the footage. All you can do is view it on the lcd monitor. I have been using my digital camera for videos for the past 6 months but I would rather use the film. I would love to transfer this onto the computer to edit and put on cd but I can't seem to find an answer to exactly what hardware and names of cords that I will need. I am guessing I will need some type of card to install on the computer and a cord to plug in...but I have done searches on the internet and have came up with no answers. I also have vhs tapes I would like to do the same thing with. We have already lost footage of my oldest son's first birthday party.  I would really appreciate any help.
Thank you ,
Amy Day

Raptor

Re: transfering 8mm tapes onto computer
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2005, 09:18:43 AM »
Does the manual not mention what the connector is for?

To connect most modern videocameras and photo cameras to your computer, you use either an USB or a firewire connection.

merlin_2

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2005, 10:23:11 AM »