Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: New LCD Widescreen Monitor (HP) acting like 2?  (Read 1855 times)

WillNeedsHelpFast

Topic Starter

Intermediate

• Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Beginner
    New LCD Widescreen Monitor (HP) acting like 2?
    « on: June 09, 2011, 07:41:34 PM »
    Right, so I recently got a new computer, which came with a widescreen lcd monitor.

I notice a problem however, I think it believes I have 2.

I may full screen to play a game, and when I come back, programs left up like firefox, I unminimize and it unminimizes it off of my screen to the right, making me unable to see it.

I also notice my cursor can just float off to the right and take forever to get back, as if its going to a second monitor.

As you can see, it seems pretty obvious, but I am no expert on this. It seems as if it thinks I have 2 monitors...which I dont. Is there anything anyone knows of that we can do to fix this.

Just ask if you need my specs.

I appreciate the help (If any) guys.
    Doesn't need help as fast anymore ;)

truenorth

Guru

Re: New LCD Widescreen Monitor (HP) acting like 2?
      « Reply #1 on: June 10, 2011, 07:09:46 AM »
      You don't mention your O/S is i presume it is win 7 (doesn't look like xp as on the computer i am viewing your post). It is definitely going to be a user selected parameter in your "display" settings. I note "extend these displays" in your set parameter. What other options do you have available there? I have only recently begun using win 7 on a laptop so unfortunately i am not as familiar as others may be with it yet. I do know that by pressing the "windows and P " keys simultaneously you can chose between a variety of options (one of which IS extended). I suspect you need to go that route and change to the option of a single screen ( or monitor only if that is what it is--i forget for the moment all the choices) good luck,truenorth