Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: 3rd hard drive or replace hd  (Read 12591 times)

washingmachine

Topic Starter

Rookie

• Experience: Beginner
3rd hard drive or replace hd
« on: July 03, 2011, 11:15:45 AM »
Hello everyone.  I have a 500 gb hd i want to install in my pc but am unsure if I can just add it along woth the other 2 or if I have to get rid of one to add this one.  If I do need to swap one out for the 500gb I am also not clean on how I save all the data or transfer the data.  I am still a newb with pc's so thank you for the advice.

pc specs
Intel core 2 duo e6300, ddr2 2048 mbytes, GeForce 8400gs, not sure what else I need to add here so just let me know and I will try and find it. 

Allan

• Mastermind
  • Experience: Guru
Re: 3rd hard drive or replace hd
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2011, 11:20:50 AM »
It depends on whether or no there is an open slot. Check to see if your system supports three hd's.

Computer_Commando

Hacker
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2011, 11:49:45 AM »
pc specs
Intel core 2 duo e6300, ddr2 2048 mbytes, GeForce 8400gs, not sure what else I need to add here so just let me know and I will try and find it.
Not enough info.  Provide make & model number of computer.

lectrocrew

Mentor

• ole dog learning new tricks
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • My first self-built computer
  • Experience: Familiar
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2011, 10:41:07 PM »

pc specs
What motherboard?

washingmachine

Topic Starter

Rookie

« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2011, 09:48:57 PM »
With Cupid cpu-z under mainboard info, Intel model DG965WH, Chipset p965/g965, southbridge is 82801HH, and Lpcio is NS PC8374L.  Hard drive I want to add is a western digital 500 gb sata 300.  Hope this is the right info.  Thank you again for the help.

lectrocrew

Mentor

• ole dog learning new tricks
    • Yes
    • Yes