Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: create a link to IE home page  (Read 6965 times)

4GJohnny

create a link to IE home page
« on: February 08, 2012, 07:00:02 PM »
Hello to each and everyone, I'm a newbie so welcome to me ;D
I would like to know if it's possible in html to create a link to the local computer's IE home page? If so, how?
For example, if a user click on a link, it will redirect and open their local IE's home page.

Thanks to all and more power.
4G

kpac

• Web moderator

• Hacker

• kpac®
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Re: create a link to IE home page
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 04:17:20 AM »
It's not possible I'm afraid.

Rob Pomeroy

Prodigy

• Systems Architect
    • Me
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 06:31:51 AM »
It's not possible I'm afraid.

Or....:

Code: [Select]
<script language="text/javascript">
if (document.layers)
  window.home();
else if (document.all)
  window.location="about:home";
else
  alert("Your browser kind of sucks.")
}
</script>
Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos

kpac

• Web moderator

• Hacker

• kpac®
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2012, 01:17:34 PM »
Well that's embarressing. I wasn't sure today when I posted it, so I did a quick Google and came up with nothing. It doesn't look like there's a cross-browser solution though. That code doesn't work for Chrome, as far as I can tell.

Rob Pomeroy

Prodigy

• Systems Architect
    • Me
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2012, 01:27:26 AM »
I think with the advent of multi-page "homes" and such like, the whole concept of home has changed in meaning significantly.  If my "home" involved loading 10 tabs, I wouldn't want some sneaky web page to pull that javascript trick on me...
Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.