Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Format my Compaq Presario 5060??  (Read 5669 times)

Kojoi

Format my Compaq Presario 5060??
« on: September 25, 2005, 01:00:38 PM »
Hi!
I want to format the hard drive on my Compaq Presario 5060 but I'm not sure on HOW to do it.
In other words, I want to remove every file that ever existed on my hard drive. Nowadays the computer is soooo slow and makes sounds whenever it's working, maybe because we've installed Windows 98 over and over again whenever it would go nuts and we've also downloaded very big files as movies and such.

I don't want to use Fdisk so I've read about this other program called "Morgud's Erasure Suite (MES)"...but I don't know if it works on my computer.

What is the best program to use? I've never done this before so I want to know what I should do instead of taking a wild guess and maybe mess up the computer more.

I appriciate if anyone please could help me.

Raptor

Re: Format my Compaq Presario 5060??
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2005, 01:59:25 PM »
Do the following:

• Download a bootable diskette from this location
  • Create a bootable diskette
  • Insert Diskette
  • Set FDD as first boot device
  • Choose to boot with CD-ROM Support
  • Type Format C: in A: prompt.

I don't want to use Fdisk

Fdisk is a good program. Why not?

Computer_Commando

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2005, 01:59:58 PM »
1.  I want to format the hard drive...
2.  I want to remove every file that ever existed on my hard drive...
3.  I don't want to use Fdisk...
4.  What is the best program to use?...
5.  I want to know what I should do instead of taking a wild guess and maybe mess up the computer more...

1.  Format c: /s
2.  Formatiing will remove everything, including Windows.
3.  Why?
4.  Fdisk & Format
5.  Everything you have mentioned will "mess up the computer more".  I suspect you don't want to do any of this.

merlin_2