Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: computer hard shutdowns for some unknown reason  (Read 5075 times)

importedalien

Topic Starter

Starter

• Yes
  • Experience: Beginner
computer hard shutdowns for some unknown reason
« on: July 22, 2012, 01:21:44 AM »
 I'm having problems with my comp. It's my first build so I have no clue why it's shutting down on me. I don't believe it is a over heating problem. I've replaced my motherboard and RAM thing that was the problem, but the problem still ensues. I will turn on my pc and it will work for 15 min or less and then shutdown. I was thinking of replaces the CPU, but I'm concerned that it will not solve the problem. If anyone has any advice it would be much appreciated.

My specs are:
CPU i7-950
Mobo EVGA X58 classified 3
RAM G-Skill Ripjaws 12 gb
Graphics card evga gtx 460
Power supply Antec 850 watt
Hardrive seagate barracuda 7200.12 500gb

I'm still kind of new at this. I know very little when it comes to pc's.

hartbeatmr

Apprentice

• Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Re: computer hard shutdowns for some unknown reason
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2012, 03:15:16 AM »
Good morning importedalien

Nice set up you have here but lets see if we can better help you.

Now I am not being a wise guy but you did connect the extra power plug into the motherboard not just the 24pin atx connector.

That will cause the system not to work.

Did you try to boot the system with say 1 stick of ram?

During boot and in windows is running is the CPU fan running - Is the fan a Intel box set fan (ie retail cpu set) that has CPU and fan together. If this was a Intel fan did the protective film /cover get removed from the bottom of the heatsink? before placement.

Did the 1 or 2 (8pin) power connectors get plugged into the video card?