Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Stick with Windows 7 32-bit or upgrade to Win 7 64-bit?  (Read 8109 times)

DaveLembke

Topic Starter

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Stick with Windows 7 32-bit or upgrade to Win 7 64-bit?
« on: May 24, 2013, 03:53:50 PM »
So here is the situation:

My system maxes out on 4GB of RAM and has 4GB RAM installed. I have been running Windows 7 32-bit for about 3 years now on this system only using 3GB of the 4GB.

Hardware is:
Biostar MCP6PB M2+ Motherboard

Athlon II x4 620 2.6Ghz running overclocked at just under 2.8Ghz CPU with FSB at 215Mhz vs 200 and 13x multiplier

Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800Mhz ( 2 x 2GB = 4GB ) RAM *Maximum supported by motherboard.

ASUS ATI Radeon HD5450 Video Card with 1GB DDR3

500GB SATA II HDD

90GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD

DVD-RW Optical drive

My wifes old system a Pentium E5400 was running Windows 7 64-bit and the motherboard died, and the current system Core 2 Duo E6600 I gave her as a replacement is running one of the Windows 7 32-bit licenses off a Windows 7 32-bit 3-pack that I bought. So her Win7 64-bit license is no longer in use and I was thinking of upgrading to Windows 7 64-bit on my system.

But here are my questions:

While I know that Windows 7 64-bit is the way to go for future computing and 32-bit will be a thing of the past, I am wondering if its at all worth it to get an extra 1GB of memory out of this current build?  ( I am thinking it will be a wash on the gain going from 32 to 64-bit )

Also I read something about 16-bit applications not supported under Windows 7 64-bit and I have some old games and software that I occasionally run on my Windows 7 32-bit build, would I need to now run these 16-bit applications within a dosbox type environment etc or would they still run in Windows 7 64-bit with xp compatability selected etc?