Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: can i build new external commands?  (Read 4073 times)

chris milne

can i build new external commands?
« on: July 31, 2004, 02:38:22 PM »
Hi,
firstly, i'm a bit of a newbie to DOS, so sorry if this's really easy!
secondly, i've tried the FAQ pages and searching the forums but i can't find an answer to my problem...

Ok, what i've been trying to do is install a Java Development Kit in Windows XP.  I usually use Linux to do this kind of stuff, so what i'd like to do is to be able to type in commands in DOS ,e.g. 'javac' (that's the compiler), and for them to work regardless of which directory i'm currently in.
Here's an example:
just say i'm in directory c:\chris and i want to compile a file, HelloWorld.java.  I can compile the file if i type in:
c:\jdk1.31\bin\javac HelloWorld.java
i.e. the full path to the compiler, then the filename.
but... because i'm super lazy ;) i just want to type:
javac HelloWorld.java

i've tried putting shortcuts in c:\windows\system32 (that's where external commands seem to be stored?) to the javac.exe program and i've even tried to copy javac.exe to there but it doesn't work (it can't find the necessary libraries).

is there anyway that i can, sort of, choose which directories i want the command prompt to search through to find the executable files?

many thanks for reading, it'd be amazing if someone could help me out...
Chris.

MalikTous

Re: can i build new external commands?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2004, 02:46:34 PM »
I think there are some environment variables (set java=c:\progra~1\java141 or something similar) you can use to aid this. Check your documentation. Include the JAVA directory in your PATH statement, as well. Set these in your DOSSTART.BAT or similar file.

johnwill

Re: can i build new external commands?
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2004, 02:46:01 PM »