Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: batch file  (Read 3088 times)

PaulMarie

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    batch file
    « on: April 03, 2017, 08:34:30 AM »
    I need to create a batch file to test if a date file plus some days is greater than the system date. Is it possible and, if it is, how? (I'm an old man but novice with batch files)
    Thanks

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: batch file
    « Reply #1 on: April 03, 2017, 10:05:12 AM »
    Are you saying your looking for files older than that of the date in which the computer was built with OS install date?

In my picture attached below this HP Windows 7 based computer was purchased and built in 2015 and it has system files that are dated 2009. So you will need an exclusion list in order to keep out system files that I am guessing you dont want to target?

Do you have a specific folder or directory you want to target to complete this action or just run across the entire C: drive etc?

Also... there is a cool program I use called XXCOPY that has an "older than" option which xcopy doesnt have with:
    /DB:<date>  Copies files that were changed on or before the specified date.