Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Help with installing Linux on older Laptop  (Read 140091 times)

doktorfrank

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Help with installing Linux on older Laptop
    « on: May 27, 2020, 12:52:02 AM »
    Hope to get some help. I am new to Linux and wanted to get my old laptop some new life but i have tried with a few different variances of linux without any success. For the most time thje screen just freezes in the installation process. But the last time i got the message "kernel Panic". See attached photo of the screen.
    I have windows 10 Pro installed with 3 partitions (2 with NTFS and one with Fat32) on an ASUS laptop with Intel Core2 Duo CPU T5850 2.16 GHz and 3gb RAM, 32bit operating system, x64-based processor.
    I dont know what is going on when it just freezes and i have tried with both Linux 32bit and 64 bit versions. Hope to get some help. :O

nil

• Global Moderator

• Intermediate
      • Experience: Experienced
      Re: Help with installing Linux on older Laptop
      « Reply #1 on: May 29, 2020, 01:06:28 PM »
      It looks like the panic was caused because TPM is enabled, but TPM does not recognize Linux as a valid OS.

TPM (Trusted Platform Module) is a Secure Boot feature included in some motherboard BIOS. It prevents the user from booting from a "non-trusted" operating system. It's a corporate feature that prevents you from installing a custom operating system on the computer. When combined with a password-protected BIOS, it prevents a malicious user with physical access to the computer from inserting a removable disk and installing a new OS or even booting from a Live USB.

Try disabling Secure Boot/TPM in your BIOS before installing Linux.
      Do not communicate by sharing memory; instead, share memory by communicating.

--Effective Go

doktorfrank

Topic Starter

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2020, 02:21:04 AM »