Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Tried to reinstalled windows 98 SE..problem freezi  (Read 5200 times)

cujosmom

Tried to reinstalled windows 98 SE..problem freezi
« on: May 03, 2006, 10:22:02 PM »
I recently reinstalled win 98 se but when it gets to the point where is says setting up your hardware and any plug and play devices it freezes. I have turned it off several times, like it says to do, but each time windows 98 setup starts it's always the same. I have tried other cd and it still will not go past this point. I am very new to all this but I sure could use some help! :( :'(

GX1_Man

Re: Tried to reinstalled windows 98 SE..problem fr
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2006, 04:17:53 AM »
What happened requiring the reinstall? Any other problems with the machine or any specifics about it?

Rob Pomeroy

Prodigy

• Systems Architect
    • Me
  • Experience: Expert
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2006, 04:22:45 AM »
And do you happen to have another Win98 installation CD that you can try?  Any exotic hardware installed in the PC?
Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos

cujosmom

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2006, 10:43:18 PM »
I was cleaning up my computer, it was running very slow, so I was doing a clean install. These nothing *censored* on it, its old and slow. I managed to get windows up and running but it tell me in my device manager that I still have problems "USB open host controller - device failure and also my PCI Ethernet controller " driver not installed correctly. I've tried the update but it tell me the driver has been installed????? :-? Like I say it's old...how do I find what driver I need now  :-[ :'(....I really appericate the help  :)/me
« Last Edit: May 04, 2006, 10:45:05 PM by cujosmom »

cujosmom

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2006, 10:48:21 PM »
I have tied 2 different CD"S and it still kept freezing

Rob Pomeroy

Prodigy