Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: dos animation  (Read 6398 times)

aldero

dos animation
« on: June 17, 2006, 11:27:10 AM »
Hi,

a friend gave me an very very old computer (386 or older). It runs only in DOS.
As an artist I just want the computer to do something - for example flare like a fire.
I'm not so routined with Programming in DOS so I've found some adequate exe-files in the web, but they does not function on this old computer - they seem to be to new.
Other examplefiles from 1988-1990 did function - but they do not animate the monitor.

Did anyone have an idea, where I can find examplefiles from around 1989 that can simulate a fire on the monitor?
Did anyone have an idea how I can let the pc automatically type words and sentences for hours?

I'm very thankful for any advice.

Greetings,
Aldero

(sorry for my mediocre english)

GuruGary

Adviser
    Re: dos animation
    « Reply #1 on: June 18, 2006, 10:56:43 AM »
    For an animated fire on the screen, you can try using an animated GIF file like:
    http://www.awesomebackgrounds.com/templates/as-fire-apb-anim-1.GIF
    or
    http://ddickerson.igc.org/animated-fire.gif may work on a black background
    and then just find a DOS animated GIF viewer (http://garbo.uwasa.fi/pc/gifutil.html).

For the typing words or sentences, you can do something with a batch file, or I think the BASICA and / or QBASIC programs came with DOS that you could probably use.  If the PC is REALLY slow, then a batch file may give you the results you are looking for.  If the PC is a 386 or faster, then it may scroll too quickly for what you are looking for, in which case a BASIC program should be able to do what you want.

For a batch file, you could do something like:
    Code: [Select]
    @echo off
    :Sentences
    echo Insert your own random, witty text here
    echo Insert more random, witty text here