Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Won't show up in IE  (Read 6599 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dilbert

    Topic Starter
  • Moderator


  • Egghead

  • Welcome to ComputerHope!
  • Thanked: 44
    Won't show up in IE
    « on: August 08, 2006, 01:55:14 PM »
    I got a wierd thing going where an image won't show up in my project. It will show in every browser except Internet Explorer.

    I don't get it! The full code for that image is:

    Code: [Select]
    <img src="images/logo.png" alt="Logo" class="FloatLeft" />
    The CSS that goes with it is:

    Code: [Select]
    img.FloatLeft { float: left; margin: 1px; }
    So what's the deal with IE? I know it understands the IMG tag!
    « Last Edit: August 08, 2006, 05:16:53 PM by dl65 »
    "The geek shall inherit the Earth."

    Rob Pomeroy



      Prodigy

    • Systems Architect
    • Thanked: 124
      • Me
    • Experience: Expert
    • OS: Other
    Re: Won't show up in IE
    « Reply #1 on: August 08, 2006, 03:14:03 PM »
    This may be caused by an obscure CSS problem - I'd need to look at your full CSS hierarchy in order to be able to comment.  Could you publish the page and stylesheet (at least temporarily) and post a link?
    Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

    Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos

    Dilbert

      Topic Starter
    • Moderator


    • Egghead

    • Welcome to ComputerHope!
    • Thanked: 44
      Re: Won't show up in IE
      « Reply #2 on: August 08, 2006, 03:42:55 PM »
      Never mind, I got it.

      Turns out, if I looked at the bar at the bottom I would have seen

      "Downloading file:///C:/Documents and settings/Admin/Desktop/HTML projects..."

      :-[

      EDIT: What the *censored*? Why is this stickied?
      « Last Edit: August 08, 2006, 03:43:56 PM by Timothy_Bennett »
      "The geek shall inherit the Earth."

      Dilbert

        Topic Starter
      • Moderator


      • Egghead

      • Welcome to ComputerHope!
      • Thanked: 44
        Re: Won't show up in IE
        « Reply #3 on: August 08, 2006, 04:20:05 PM »
        OK, it's balls-up again.

        This one image loads fine in all browsers that are not MS-related. The images that do show up are ones I borrowed from FrontPage (I did not use FP to make the site!), and they'll show up fine across the board.

        The image that won't show is Logo.png. The source code follows, as well as the CSS (I've only gotten started on my mother's site, so I don't have a full hierarchy yet)

        Oh, I also have a few reminders and un-set things (like the title). This is because I use a program that applies a simple template code I can develop on. I've set the default to include the "If transitional" comment, the "Untitled" title, etc..

        Code: [Select]
        <!-- Banner.html -->

        <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
            "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

        <html>

        <head>
        <title>Untitled</title>
        <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="banner.css" />
        </head>
        <body>
        <!-- If Transitional, use <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"> -->
        <table class="invisible">
        <tr>
        <td><img src="buttons/Home_up.jpg" alt="Home" class="tab" /></td><td><img src="buttons/index_up.jpg" alt="Index" class="tab" /></td><td><img src="buttons/purchase_up.jpg" alt="Purchase Photo" class="tab" /></td><td><img src="buttons/contact_up.jpg" alt="Contact us" class="tab" /></td><td><img src="buttons/ad_up.jpg" alt="Advertise with us" /></td>
        </tr>
        </table>

        <img src="images/logo.png" alt="Logo" class="FloatLeft" /><!-- Not showing up for some odd reason in any IE-based browser -->


        <h1 class="center">House Of T'Kabi


        </body>
        </html>

        Code: [Select]
        /* Banner.css */

        body { background-color: black; }

        h1 { color: white; font-size: 36pt; font-weight: bold; }

        table.invisible { border-style: none; margin-left: 50%; }

        *.center { text-align: center; }

        img.FloatLeft { float: left; margin: 1px; }

        td { margin: 0; padding: 0; }
        « Last Edit: August 08, 2006, 05:18:59 PM by dl65 »
        "The geek shall inherit the Earth."

        Zylstra

        • Moderator


        • Hacker

        • The Techinator!
        • Thanked: 45
          • Yes
          • Technology News and Information
        • Certifications: List
        • Computer: Specs
        • Experience: Guru
        • OS: Windows 7
        Re: Won't show up in IE
        « Reply #4 on: August 08, 2006, 11:32:15 PM »
        This is/was a sticky because of a bug that I keep mentioning...
        Your CSS/Image problem may be caused by:

        <img src="images/logo.png" alt="Logo" class="FloatLeft" />

        I don't know much about CSS, but I don't think that your supposed to place the class inside the image location information... well Rob, is this right?

        May I ask where your website is?
        « Last Edit: August 08, 2006, 11:32:29 PM by zylstra555 »

        Rob Pomeroy



          Prodigy

        • Systems Architect
        • Thanked: 124
          • Me
        • Experience: Expert
        • OS: Other
        Re: Won't show up in IE
        « Reply #5 on: August 09, 2006, 02:42:15 AM »
        Quote
        I don't know much about CSS, but I don't think that your supposed to place the class inside the image location information... well Rob, is this right?
        Wrong, I'm afraid.  Class definitions can apply to ANY HTML element.

        Dilbert, as I said before, it would be helpful if you could publish this site and provide a link.  Thanks.
        Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

        Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos

        Zylstra

        • Moderator


        • Hacker

        • The Techinator!
        • Thanked: 45
          • Yes
          • Technology News and Information
        • Certifications: List
        • Computer: Specs
        • Experience: Guru
        • OS: Windows 7
        Re: Won't show up in IE
        « Reply #6 on: August 09, 2006, 02:47:29 AM »
        Quote
        Quote
        I don't know much about CSS, but I don't think that your supposed to place the class inside the image location information... well Rob, is this right?
        Wrong, I'm afraid.  Class definitions can apply to ANY HTML element.

        Dilbert, as I said before, it would be helpful if you could publish this site and provide a link.  Thanks.
        Oh...
        Clarification time:
        I thought that all elements were limited to certain settings. Is it all done through the browser?
        And
        CSS is just a bunch of individual style sheets with set values (the class=) so that you can have different items on your webpage positioned in different areas, with fonts, and whatever else you specify...
        I haven't experimented with CSS, is it recommended that I do? (I'm sorry, its 1:46AM now Rob, and I am starting to get tired. So much for Low Power M
                                                                               o
                                                                                 de
        and look at that, I start getting CH emails all the sudden!

        Rob Pomeroy



          Prodigy

        • Systems Architect
        • Thanked: 124
          • Me
        • Experience: Expert
        • OS: Other
        Re: Won't show up in IE
        « Reply #7 on: August 09, 2006, 06:58:30 AM »
        All web designers need to understand CSS.  Period.
        Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

        Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos

        unlovedwarrior



          Guru

        • someday this name will be known
        • Thanked: 13
          Re: Won't show up in IE
          « Reply #8 on: August 09, 2006, 10:03:36 AM »
          i love css im learning it right now along with javascript  ;D

          Dilbert

            Topic Starter
          • Moderator


          • Egghead

          • Welcome to ComputerHope!
          • Thanked: 44
            Re: Won't show up in IE
            « Reply #9 on: August 09, 2006, 12:15:31 PM »
            Well, once we publish it we'll give you a link. But my boss (mom) wants a good portion of the site done before we publish it. (And I'd better work fast -- I'm working off my latest computer toy ;)) But once "we" do, I'll provide a link. :)
            "The geek shall inherit the Earth."

            Rob Pomeroy



              Prodigy

            • Systems Architect
            • Thanked: 124
              • Me
            • Experience: Expert
            • OS: Other
            Re: Won't show up in IE
            « Reply #10 on: August 09, 2006, 01:45:29 PM »
            I didn't mean publish the lot.  Just that page with ancillary graphics and stylesheet, to a temporary location.  You can PM the link to me if you like.  I won't tell.
            Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

            Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos

            Dilbert

              Topic Starter
            • Moderator


            • Egghead

            • Welcome to ComputerHope!
            • Thanked: 44
              Re: Won't show up in IE
              « Reply #11 on: August 09, 2006, 01:55:20 PM »
              "temporary location"? What if I zipped the folder and used YouSendIt to get you the files? It's not large, even unzipped it's only 72.8 KB. Yeah, that's what I'll do. Check your PM box in a minute or two.
              "The geek shall inherit the Earth."

              Dilbert

                Topic Starter
              • Moderator


              • Egghead

              • Welcome to ComputerHope!
              • Thanked: 44
                Re: Won't show up in IE
                « Reply #12 on: August 11, 2006, 07:06:43 PM »
                I fixed it. I re-downloaded the same image (mom already has a temp site up, but it uses FrontPage) and named it the same name, with the same extension, in the same folder. It works in all browsers. Weird.
                "The geek shall inherit the Earth."

                Rob Pomeroy



                  Prodigy

                • Systems Architect
                • Thanked: 124
                  • Me
                • Experience: Expert
                • OS: Other
                Re: Won't show up in IE
                « Reply #13 on: August 12, 2006, 12:56:49 AM »
                Glad you got it sorted.  Sorry I'd not had a chance to look at this previously.  It was a bigger job than most of my replies to CH threads...
                Only able to visit the forums sporadically, sorry.

                Geek & Dummy - honest news, reviews and howtos