Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: need help with displays and monitor on Windows XP  (Read 2992 times)

nOOb1022

need help with displays and monitor on Windows XP
« on: August 14, 2006, 08:47:06 PM »
Thanks for taking the time to help consider my problem all of you forum jumpers I am relatively new to computers and so when I reinstalled windows Xp home edition on a Dell OptiPlex Gxa (if that means anything to you) and when I finally got everything straightened up my display was only 640 x 480 pixels which means that I am unable to play games on my computer :'( but I thought just simply switching it would help but when I switch to 600 by 800 the display goes off the screen so I cant see my taskbar, then I cant get back to 640 by 480 so I have been using system restore to return it, if you know how to fix this please drp me a reply it gets very frusterating :-? it also says I have the default monitor which isnt true, I have a NEC multiSyncXV17+ monitor, once again any help would be greatly appreciated thanks

Jase
« Last Edit: August 14, 2006, 08:54:41 PM by nOOb1022 »

GX1_Man

Re: need help with displays and monitor on Windows
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2006, 09:13:37 PM »
What video adapter is in there? (Look in the BIOS to see.) Compare that to what is shown in Windows. (Right click on desktop and choose Properties. It is in the same place where you change the resolution under Adapter. Dell does not list an XP driver for the GXa so it may just be making a closest guess at the display resolution, etc.

It seems like they used the RagePro chip on all of these Optiplex models, but I thinkit was only a 2 meg. video memory model. That will affect the possibilities a lot.  Later Optiplexes (the GX1) with a 4 meg. chip have no problem with XP.