Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Where should second HDD be located?  (Read 3078 times)

vkr15

Where should second HDD be located?
« on: February 07, 2007, 08:36:58 PM »
Wanted to hook up a second hard drive primarily for backups and locating the page file in an exclusive partition for faster access. Its an IDE drive: presently on Channel IDE 0 I have a HDD as master and on Channel IDE 1 the CD/DVD drive also as master. I've been advised NOT  to hook up the second HDD as slave on IDE 0 as it would slow down my machine and the very purpose of locating the page file for achieving faster access would be defeated since the OS on the master and slave in IDE 0 would both be constantly accessed thus slowing down both drives. Would it be advisable therefore that I hook up the second physical HDD as master or slave on IDE 1 to improve performance?
Grateful for your views/recommendations.
vkr15

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

Re: Where should second HDD be located?
    « Reply #1 on: February 07, 2007, 10:23:12 PM »
    vkr15...... If I was doing that , I would be putting both the Hard drives on the primary IDE. Others may have differing opinions.

Paging File Performance - The paging file issue has been beaten to death time and time again, but it's still a fact that placing the paging file [highlight]in a separate partition - on a different hard drive from [/highlight][highlight]the system drive [/highlight]- will aid performance in the majority of cases. If nothing else, it will help eliminate fragmentation of the primary drive that can seriously impact performance as the paging file is expanded and contracted.
    What kind of a system do you have?

dl65  ::)

« Last Edit: February 07, 2007, 10:24:27 PM by dl65 »
    If you don't know the answer, it isn't a dumb question.

vkr15

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2007, 11:26:06 PM »
    Couldn't agree with you more dl65.