Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Reformatting troubles  (Read 3149 times)

Hoowah

Reformatting troubles
« on: August 15, 2007, 02:01:32 PM »
Well heres the problem. IO have my own computer which my brother uses on occasion for his iPod and such. Apparently he disabled Norton or something not sure how but he managed to DL one *censored* of a virus. I tried pretty well everything I knew as far as fixing it goes (I have some computer knowledge but not extensive to say the least) and started talking to one of my friends from Geek Sqaud.

Anyway what this virus did, was of course made the usual popups come non stop, and for some reason I was unable to run Norton to scan it in the least, so I uninstalled and reinstalled but the reinstallation kept failing, saying there was an error. So I decided that my best bet would be reformatting (I have all my stuff backed up on an external HD so reformattiong or losing info isn't a big deal to me), but as soon as it got to the actual installation part it errored so I shut down and fixed my BIOS and booted from disk (I have a "real" cd) I'm running windows XP Home, on a touch systems computer, I have about 1 gig of RAM. Anyway once I got through all the loading and such it says Setup is Starting Windows (where it would normally take me to repair console install windows etc...) and instead of the usual screen I got a blue screen of death, saying the usual new hardware software blah blah blah, it said Session3_Initilization_Failed and ***Stop: 0x0000006f (0xc0000020, 0x00000000, 0x00000000).