Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Inside Secrets On Brand Name Computers  (Read 9786 times)

Broni

Topic Starter

Mastermind
  • Kraków my love :)
    • Computer Help Forum
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Experienced
Inside Secrets On Brand Name Computers
« on: February 13, 2008, 01:07:52 PM »
I wonder, what do you have to say about THIS article from Lockergnome:

I work in IT for an “unnamed” company, and want to share with you and the people in the chat room some inside secrets in the pros and cons of certain brand name computers.

1. Never, ever, ever buy an eMachine/Gateway computer. Why? I work on a lot of eMachines and Gateways and I would say that 70% of them all have the same problem. What happens is eMachines/Gateways, like most computer manufacturers, use very cheap power supplies. The problem is eMachine/Gateway also use very cheap motherboards. What happens? The PSU nukes the motherboard, so to speak. Think about that. 70%.
   2. HP/Compaq desktops are not as horrible as eMachines, but they’re most definitely not the best. The biggest problem with HP/Compaq computers is the hard drives fail. Now hard drives are very good at failing, but HP/Compaq’s like to fail more often than not. Who knows why? All I know is that they use Samsung hard drives and they downright suck. Newer HPs in the last year have fixed this problem — or so the company says.
   3. HP laptops. Okay, I’ll keep it simple. If you have an HP DV2000, 6000, or 9000 series with an AMD processor, you might have a problem. Why? Well if your built-in wireless receiver stops working (not even showing up in device manager), it’s not software, it’s the system board. Now HP is starting to address this by offering an extended one-year warranty on this specific problem.