Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: CAN NOT GET THE COMPUTER TO WORK! HELP!  (Read 5658 times)

xstrangerx

CAN NOT GET THE COMPUTER TO WORK! HELP!
« on: January 30, 2008, 05:02:08 PM »
I am not very good at fixing computer problems.. and my warranty expired... I have a windows XP dimension E310 (dell computer). yesterday my brother just turned the computer off by pushing the button on the CPU. This morning I tired to turn the computer on and every time a blue screen pops up after a few second saying that the computer has detected a problem and needs to shut down in order to prevent damage and the error is: UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME

and if you see this message for the first time restart the computer.... but every time I turn it on the blue error screen wont go away, I even tried to turn it on SAFE MODE.. even that doesnt work... Anyone have any clue what the problem is or how to fix it??? Or any other tip and help?? ???

Thanks for your help in advace!

Helpdeskian

Re: CAN NOT GET THE COMPUTER TO WORK! HELP!
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2008, 05:08:55 PM »
there is a lot of information on this in the FAQ Database. if you look in there you will find tools and links to fix this. To give you a headstart do you have the xp disc? it sounds like you probably have a system file missing or corrupt. here is a link from the FAQ page about running a repair. http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

You should be getting an error message in white letters on that blue screen??

Let me know if this helps.

liambiscuit

Hopeful

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 08:34:49 PM »
    This has NO research or looking-up involved, it is strictly from memory, so i may be off on a bit:

First of all is it a notebook or a desktop? (too lazy to google the title :) )