Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: New build problem, help! :(  (Read 2819 times)

toodlesoodles

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

New build problem, help! :(
    « on: April 04, 2008, 04:45:37 PM »
    Hey guys. Just build my sister a new PC.. here are the specs..

- Antec NSK 4480 Mini Tower Case (Silver) - 380W Earth Watts PSU
    - Intel Core 2 Duo E2200 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.20GHz
    - Samsung SH-S203D 20x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter
    - Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H GeForce 7100 Micro-ATX (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
    - Samsung SpinPoint T 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache
    - OCZ 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C4 Dual Channel Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2

I'm no PC expert by any means, but I have built a PC (mine before), and other than incompatible RAM to begin with, I had no problems.

So the build went well and I booted the PC up and everything seemed to be fine. I put Windows XP in to install and setup began, but during the part where it checks your configuration at the start I got a blue screen (the 'Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer one) and so I reset the PC but now it just hangs on the 'Verifying DMI Pool Data' screen.

I've tried a few things,

- Checked everything is connected properly and securely
    - Tried each stick of RAM on it's own... everytime I changed the RAM around the 'Verifying DMI Pool Data' screen updates to 'Verifying DMI Pool Data ........... update success!' and then it just continues to hang
    - Resetting to optimized defaults/fail safe in the BIOS, and also resetting the CMOS
    None of this fixed the problem though.
    Next I put the hard drive from my  computer in to the new build and, sure enough, it booted up in to Windows XP first time. So I now know that, for some reason, I can't get past the DMI Pool Data screen because of the new hard drive.