Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need help with creating a C++ Installer  (Read 3250 times)

youngbucks

Topic Starter

Rookie

Need help with creating a C++ Installer
    « on: June 06, 2008, 08:30:20 PM »
    Ok im new to this and ive read through some beginner books and i have a basic understanding of C++ and im trying to make a installer that will do simple tasks like downloading a file, extract it, and copy files to the specified directory. Is anyone willing to spare some time to help me with this? If so please send me a pm along with your msn. A source code of a installer already made would help too guys, thanks  :)

Spasm

Greenhorn

Re: Need help with creating a C++ Installer
      « Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 04:35:43 AM »
      That actually sounds like it would be more advanced.  I suppose you could use system commands or the Windows API to make it alot easier, but there are lots of installers that use scripts to do what you want.  I think Nullsoft makes a pretty good one if you just need an installer and not the learning experience.

RUBY02

Rookie

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2008, 07:40:32 AM »
        i noticed your having the same problem, i am getting the djgpp to work.
        i am no professional and do not even know what i am doing.   well i know what i am doing and why. i  am not sure it is going to work.  i just have to keep working unitl it does.  i asked the same question you did and got almost the same answer.  i will tell what i decided to do. 
        i knew i was not going to get the program to run unless i explored it.
        i think everyone and their family has worked building, modifying, and inventing
        so i cracked into it and started opening folders and their directories.
        i am finding out the beauty of why everyone is attracted to this program, you can open any folder (just a few you can't) with note pad.